Book by phone: (888) 380-1314
Swimming pool with lounge chairs and outdoor shower

The Walua Hale

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 4, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kailua Kona, HI 96740 United States

Welcome to the Walua Hale! This private home is new to the vacation rental market. It is located along Walua Rd and just under the 600 ft elevation. With convenient Walua Trail access, you can enjoy morning and afternoon walks or jogs as soon as you exit the driveway.

As you pass through the gate to the home and start up the stairs, you have a small stairwell that leads to a private swimming pool. The pool area is tiled with Colorado Slate and has a couple of lounge chairs as well as an outdoor shower to rinse off in.

As you enter the home you have a small foyer area that has access to one of the bedrooms as well as the main living area. As you proceed into the main room, you are welcomed to a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen area with vaulted ceilings.

The living room area features two small couches with seating for four, a flat screen TV with cable, Wifi and phone, end tables, a coffee table and some additional seating.

The dining room features a square table with seating for four and has easy access to the kitchen.

The kitchen features black countertops with black and stainless steel appliances (a refrigerator, dishwasher and propane stove/oven). There is a door off the kitchen that takes you to the back lanai where the propane grill is located as well as some outdoor seating. If you are in the kitchen you can also pass through to the laundry area and to a Jack and Jill bathroom that takes you to the purple bedroom.

In addition to having an ocean view, the purple bedroom has a Queen size bed, closet, dresser, and a flat screen TV. There is both a ceiling and oscillating fan.

On the other side of the main living area there is another full bathroom and the green bedroom. The green bedroom hosts another ocean view, a Queen size bed, closet, and a flat screen TV. It too has both a ceiling and oscillating fan.

Just off the dining room, there is a lanai with seating for four where you can enjoy your morning coffee or an evening cocktail taking in the ocean views sitting by the outdoor fireplace.

Book direct at our main site to save at www.chproperties.com.
*Please know that the damage waiver fee ($104.17) will be manually entered as an additional fee before your payment is processed and is not reflected on rental quote.

Hawaii GET/TAT# 081-710-2848-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, Built in 1979
Unit Code Walua
Beds 2 queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 4
Floor Area 1242 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, outdoor shower, queen, sleep sofa /futon, churches, cinemas, festivals, library, live theater, marina, museums, playground, reefs, restaurants, ruins, volcano, waterfalls, Dining, Games, Satellite / Cable, Television, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Hair Dryer, Internet, Iron & Board, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Oven, Refrigerator, Toaster, antiquing, beachcombing, bird watching, eco tourism, horseback riding, luaus, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, walking, whale watching, ATM/bank, fitness center, groceries, hospital, massage therapist, medical services, Ocean View, Lanai / Gazebo, Outdoor Grill, Private Pool, cycling, deepsea fishing, fishing, golf, hiking, jet skiing, paragliding, pier fishing, sailing, scuba diving or snorkeling, snorkeling, surfing, swimming, tennis, water skiing, wind-surfing, non smoking only, pets not allowed, Long-term Renters Welcome
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Oven, Dishwasher, DIshes , Silverware, Glasses
Living Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Fireplace, WiFi
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Movie Theatres, Golf Course, Restaurants
Outdoor Deck, Gas Grill, Outdoor Shower, Private Pool, Lanai
Geographic Close to Town, Near Snorkelling
Entertainment Cable TV, Games
Average Manager Rating (Based on 95 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 10 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
90 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Great house

    Stayed 1 day ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Judy A from Kinderhook, NY recommends this vacation rental

    Great house, agent was very responsive. Clean. Teenagers loved the pool. Quiet neighborhood.

  •  
  • Our lovely stay in Kona

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Palo Alto, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed in this wonderful house two years in a row and enjoyed every minute. The property is well-appointed, in a fantastic location, and the management is helpful and responsive. We were very satisfied overall with the stay and will be staying in the future. There are a few things that are missing from the house that would have made our stay more comfortable and we hope the management will address those - drip coffee pot, beach chairs, glass ware. But really nothing can beat the view and the location. We will be back!

  •  
  • Kona Hawaii

    Stayed 5 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Juli H from seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Clean, comfortable house, great location in quiet neighborhood. Kids loved the pool!

  •  
  • Best House Ever

    Stayed 8 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kelly A from Portland, OR recommends this vacation rental

    The pictures do not do this place justice. This home is fabulous. 4 adults stayed here and never wanted to leave. The Pool is fabulous, the View from pool and Lanai is breath taking. I cannot say enough great things about this home. The furniture is so tasteful. The beds and pillows were more than ample and so very comfortable. The 2 bedrooms are on opposite sides of the house which made for great privacy. The Lanai is beautiful. The back deck perfect for star gazing at night. Thank you so very much for sharing this home with us.

  •  
  • Unique relaxing quiet

    Stayed 7 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Linda C from East Helena, MT recommends this vacation rental

    We thoroughly enjoyed our home while in Hawaii. It is in a quiet neighborhood high enough to see the ocean every day. We lived on the deck watching birds in the trees and watching the reflection change on the ocean. The pool is small but refreshing. Just enough to get cooled off and enjoy some sun. The kitchen has most items yo need to cook and eat but not much in terms of basics. A few spices and that's about it. The decor is fun and very much fitting of the islands. Everyone was helpful in getting us in and taking care of anything that came up. The drive way is super steep so be sure if you have a rental car it can make it. We would probably use it again if we come back.

  •  
  • Kona accomodation at its best

    Stayed 5 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Brett T recommends this vacation rental

    What a fantastic property, very clean and tidy and jam packed with all amenities.Location was perfect with fantastic views and plenty of room.Highly recommend5l

  •  
  • Walua Hale Review

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest does not recommend this vacation rental.

    It is necessary for everyone to know first off that this house does not have air conditioning. There are fans but it is incredibly hot and does not cool down til late at night making it hard to sleep. There also is a cockroach problem, we probably saw 20+ in the house during our stay. The house itself is newly redone and has good accommodations but if we had known there was no air conditioning and so many bugs we would have stayed elsewhere. The driveway is very steep, you need to speed up in order to make it up and we often rolled backward. It does provide a gorgeous view. If it had AC and less bugs we would give this a 5 stars based on the rest of the home. The rental agent also did not check in with us once during our stay. Mahalo !

    • Manager Responded on 2/27/2017

      Aloha, thank you for your review. This is a great home and it does host a beautiful view for sure! However, it is not advertised as having air conditioning and only has ceiling fans and stand alone fans. We're sorry that you assumed that was available. Regarding the pests, unfortunately, this is the tropics and there are bugs. The owners of the home however are very pro-active about it and have the house set up on quarterly pest control and have both the inside and outside treated. It does talk about this in the rental policies that you were sent back in October when you booked the home. Most guests prefer to not be bothered during their vacation and only contact me when they need something or if there is a problem. We never received a call, email or text from you so assumed everything was wonderful and you were out exploring and enjoying this beautiful island.

  •  
  • Walua Hale home

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ole S from Tumwater, WA recommends this vacation rental

    the Walua hale house was a wonderful place to stay. Location was ideal, close to town, great view from the covered deck. We would stay here again.

  •  
  • First Hawaiian Vacation

    Stayed 10 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Heather R from Cochrane, Alberta recommends this vacation rental

    Our overall stay was good at The Walua Hale house. Our girls loved the pool, although it was a little small and we were concerned about hitting the other side when jumping in. The pool tiles are not attached very well. The outdoor shower we were never able to get to work. The house is in a very nice location and has a beautiful view. We loved sitting on the front deck in the evenings enjoying the nice weather. There were some things that could have been improved on. The shower curtains in the bathrooms were super moldy and the bathtubs themselves looked only moderately clean. I wouldn't sit down and have a bath in them. One of the toilets plugged the first day there, but was quickly fixed when we reached out to the property management team. The outdoor couch on the deck is broken and my husband couldn't sit on it because he would go right through it. The fridge sounded like it was dying and bothered my kids when they were trying to sleep. The bedroom at the front of the house was crazy hot and impossible to get cool, but thankfully my kids didn't mind that. The back deck looks pretty neglected. There are a couple of chairs and a moldy outdoor mat, but we didn't spend any time out there. The BBQ is great to have. We were happy to see that there were a couple of beach chairs, boogie boards and sand toys to use. We added a couple of extra boogie boards to the set since we wanted extra ones for our family and left for others to use. Overall, we had a wonderful trip, but I would not likely stay here again.

    • Manager Responded on 2/27/2017

      Aloha, thank you for your review and the nice note that you left in the guest book. The owners came right after you (it was a back to back booking) and worked on the home. They did change out the shower curtains, bought new patio furniture for the back patio, etc. The pool at this home is small and is not meant for diving or jumping. The owners have removed the beach items from the property as they have never provided them. They were always left over from past guests and some of them were broken. Sorry that the toilet clogged. Luckily the plumber was able to get there and take care of the issue. His invoice stated it was over clogged with toilet paper. This is a great home. I am sorry that it may not have been the right fit for your party but we do hope that you had a wonderful stay here in Kona!

  •  
  • Beautiful Home

    Stayed 6 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Alexandria, VA recommends this vacation rental

    The intererior of the home was very nicely decorated and the property manager was very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do. The driveway is VERY steep but there is a nice view. Some cockroaches found and we lacked some basic supplies that are easy to purchase such as laundry detergent, dish soap and extra trash bags. My 10 year old daughter loved this house and pool!

    • Manager Responded on 8/29/2016

      Thank you kindly for your review! It is always appreciated. This home is on a quarterly pest control service and was last sprayed in mid-July. Unfortunately, no matter how hard we try, it is the tropics and just part of living/visiting here. Sorry about the issue of running out of the starter supplies. I will discuss it with the cleaning company that services this property. So happy you were able to get out and experience a variety of adventures during your stay. Most importantly, we are so happy you were able to create some wonderful memories with your daughter! We hope we can host you again in the future!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.593683,-155.955992
Call (808) 329-2601 or email HawaiiInfo@windermere.com
Kailua Kona
75-5919 Walua Road
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740
(808) 329-2601
Waimea
65-1227 A Opelo Road, Suite 1
Kamuela, Hawaii 96743
(808) 885-6044

Our Partners


Windermere / C and H Properties Hawaii Vacation Rentals 75-5919 Walua Road Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (888) 380-1314 vacations@chproperties.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon